Wienerberger Brick Award – Submission

project with modern brick facade for brick award 2017 submission

How to participate in the award

The submission period for the Brick Award 2018 is now closed. Architects, international architecture critics and journalists could enter projects between 2nd January and 20th April 2017. The 50 nominated projects will be revealed on this website as well as Facebook and Twitter from November 2017. The winners will be communicated at the Brick Award ceremony at the end of May 2018.
The submission period for the Brick Award 2020 will take place in early 2019. Information will come in due time on this website.
project the Wave Residences for brick award submission 2017
The Wave Residences, Henning Larsen Architects © Thomas Mÿlvig

Participants were asked to fill out an online template comprising of basic project data, a short informative text describing the project, as well as to upload pictures and plans of the building.  

Award categories & criteria

Categories for nomination:
  • Feeling at home: single-family houses, semi-detached houses and small housing projects of high architectural quality that provide comfortable, healthy & sustainable living spaces
  • Living together: multi-family houses: innovative residential solutions taking into account the trends & challenges of urbanisation such as scarcity of space, social challenges and new living concepts
  • Working together: comfortable, aesthetic and functional commercial buildings, offices and industrial buildings
  • Sharing public spaces: comfortable, aesthetic and functional public buildings for education, culture & healthcare, public places and infrastructure projects
  • Building outside the box: innovative concepts and ways of using brick, use of new construction technologies, special brickworks, custom-made bricks & new ornamentation
  • A significant part of the project must consist of clay building materials(clay blocks, facing bricks, clay pavers, clay roof tiles, clay façade panels etc.)
  • One of the nomination categories must apply to the project
  • The project was completed in 2014 or later
  • The project can comprise newly constructed, refurbished and converted buildings
  • The project can include new and reused bricks
  • Special attention will be directed to how the project combines functionality, sustainability and energy efficiency
  • The use of Wienerberger products is not a relevant factor for participation


The award is endowed with prize money of 7,000 Euros for the Grand Prize Winner (incl. Category Winner) and 5,000 Euros for each of the remaining four Category Winners.

Current & upcoming awards

The submission period for the Wienerberger Brick Award 2018 is closed.
Follow us on Facebook and Twitter where the selected projects as well as winners will be communicated after the jury sessions.
modern brick architecture project Sala Ayutthaya for brick award submission 2017
Sala Ayutthaya, Onion © Wison Tungthunya

Find out who won the Brick Award 2016 under winners 16 and view their award videos. The winners were chosen by our international jury and were officially presented at the award ceremony on the 19th of May 2016, as well as on our social media channels Facebook and Twitter.

Related expertise articles