Maria Grazia Cutuli School is a project for wienerberger brick award

The Wienerberger Brick Award

The submission process for the Brick Award 2018 is closed. This established international award presents outstanding brick architecture.

“When we talk about brick, people think that we talk about tradition. But in this competition, you can find many projects with an innovative approach, giving brick a new meaning and a new appearance. I think this is very important”, states Wang Shu, Pritzker Prize winner 2012 and jury member of the Wienerberger Brick Award 2014.

The award

For more than one decade now, Wienerberger AG has hosted the international “Wienerberger Brick Award” every two years, providing a stage for excellent brick architecture and its architects. Wienerberger initiated the Brick Award for the first time in 2004 in order to put this natural building material into the spotlight, demonstrating how exciting, exceptional and modern architecture using brick can be.
The spectrum of applications ranges from building solutions using classic clay blocks, facing bricks and roof tiles to the creative application of clay pavers and ceramic façade panels.
Although Wienerberger is the host of the award, it is an independent award and the use of Wienerberger products is no decisive factor for participation. Over the last years, projects have been submitted from all over the world and nominations as well as winners have been chosen using a wide range of manufacturers and brick types in all colours and shapes. In a dialogue with you, architects and architecture fans as well as critics, we want to further strengthen the public focus on the aesthetic and functional aspects of this great building material.

Seven Acres Cambridge brick apartment buildings is a project for wienerberger brick award

Seven Acres Cambridge, Formation Architects © Louis Sinclair

Women’s Opportunity Center is a project for wienerberger brick award

Women’s Opportunity Center, Sharon Davis Design © Elizabeth Felicella

Dr Chau Chak Wing Building, Gehry Partners LLP & Daryl Jackson Robin Dyke architects © Gehry Partners LLP

Dr Chau Chak Wing Building, Gehry Partners LLP & Daryl Jackson Robin Dyke architects © Gehry Partners LLP

Vellore House is a brick built project for wienerberger brick award

Vellore House, Made in Earth © Alessandro Turchi

Kirche am Meer is an innovative architectural project for wienerberger brick award

Kirche am Meer, Königs Architekten © Christian Richters

The Library of Muyinga is a project for wienerberger brick award

The Library of Muyinga © BC architects and studies

Collage Urbain is a project for wienerberger brick award

Collage Urbain, Maison Edouard Francois © Paul Raftery

How to participate in the award - Submissions

The submission period for the Brick Award 2018 is now closed. Architects, international architecture critics and journalists could enter projects between 2nd January and 20th April 2017. The 50 nominated projects will be revealed on this website as well as Facebook, Pinterest and Twitter from November 2017 onwards. The winners will be communicated at the Brick Award ceremony at the end of May2018.
An important criterion for the submission is that a significant part of the project must consist of clay building materials and it must be a current project, which has been completed no later than a few years prior to the award year applied.

Herringbone House is a brick built project for wienerberger brick award

The jury and winners

The award comprises of different categories that are subject to slight change depending on the year and the development of trends and current topics. For the Brick Award 2018 the following categories will be awarded: Feeling at Home, Living Together, Working Together, Sharing Public Spaces and Building Outside the Box.
Between January and April 2017, 576 projects worldwide were submitted for the Wienerberger Brick Award 2018. An independent pre-jury panel consisting of architecture critics and journalists now has the challenging task to narrow down this number to a total of 50 projects split into the five categories that were then nominated for the award. See all nominees of the Brick Award 2018.
Subsequently, an international jury of renowned architects, who change with every award, will select the winners within the categories including Grand Prize winner.
Among the jury members have been architects like Wang Shu, Pritzker prize winner of 2012, Marc Mimram, winner of the Aga Khan Award for Architecture, and Rudolf Finsterwalder, Fritz Höger Grand Prize winner 2014, just to mention a few. See who is on the jury board of the Brick Award 2018.
Assessment criteria include innovative design and architecture concept, skillful and innovative use of bricks as well as architecture quality in terms of aesthetics, shape and configuration of the project. Special attention is also directed to the adequacy of the project in relation to its intended purpose, building type and cultural context, as well as to sustainability and energy efficiency aspects.
The winners of the Wienerberger Brick Award are announced biannually at an award ceremony and presented, along with the 50 nominations in the accompanying ‘Brick’ book. Winning projects are endowed with price money and can be found all over the world. The first Wienerberger Brick Award in 2004 was won by Josef Pleskot in Czech Republic with his beautiful solution for a pedestrian passage in a castle park. In the following years the grand prizes went to Hungary, Germany, Liechtenstein, South Africa, Thailand and 2016 to Spain and Austria!
The winners of the Wienerberger Brick Award 2018 will be announced in Spring 2018.

Sala Ayutthaya is a modern brick project for wienerberger brick award

The Brick Book

The top 50 projects and the prize-winning buildings of the Wienerberger Brick Award are presented in the accompanying, elaborately designed architecture book called BRICK. The book gives people with an interest in architecture as well as experts an overview on current developments and trends in international brick architecture with its remarkable range of applications.
The projects are presented in the book with comprehensive texts by international architecture journalists, fascinating pictures and informative plans. Additionally, you find an essay on current topics by renowned journalists and architects at the start of each category. The book series started in 2004 with the first Wienerberger Brick Award. The 7th edition “BRICK’16” book, is already out. The "BRICK'18" book will be published in Spring 2018 by Park Books. Find out more about the book.
Finally we want to express our thanks to everyone who has contributed to the success of the award, especially the pre-jury panel and the jury who always work very hard on coming to a fair decision and making the best selection. A big thank you also goes out to people creating architecture who continually put brick in a new context, give it a new significance and thus accomplish unique architectural achievements.

De Ark, Lens°Ass Architecten © Philippe van Gelooven

Further information and nominated projects

Read more about the Brick Award and get inspired by the nominated projects  as well as winners for the Wienerberger Brick Award 2016 > Brick Award overview

Image copyrights  
Headerimage (Lanxi Curtilage) Philip F. Yuan / Archi-Union Architects © Shen Zhonghai
Herringbone House Chan and Eayrs © Mike Tsang Photographs; Thomas Giddings
Sala Ayutthaya Onion © Wison Tungthunya
De Ark  Lens°Ass Architecten © Philippe van Gelooven

Related inspiration articles